short story: TIAMAT

Photo credit: Madison Woods

I like my gems best when they first come in the mail, before I’ve made them into anything. They make me feel that there is still magic left in the world.

Tonight I‘ll dream of the flood again. God did it before, when things were not so bad as now; next time you can be sure He will do something worse. Clouds fifty miles high. Impenetrable monsoons. My necklaces will be torn apart, the gems scattered to some beach head.

A child of the new world will find them, glittering.

42 thoughts on “short story: TIAMAT

  1. Mm. Very intense picture of the future, but what lovely hope you introduce with the idea of the sparkling gems being discovered by children of the new world. Excellent progression.

  2. Very Bibical, and true to the Good Book, because the rainbow is supposed to be God’s promise to never again destroy the earth by water. But he never promised not to destroy it another way. Very dark, apocalyptic vision. I like it.

    • Interesting. I didn’t know that. My Biblical knowledge is actually rather limited, though I’m often inspired by religion in general. (And it would be just like that Old Testament God to leave a loophole in there…) Thanks for dropping by and commenting!

    • I appreciate the read and the feedback, Lora.

      I have heard that bronze sculpture is the only artwork likely to survive for millennia. So, that way lies immortality, for any of us who is interested.

    • Hi parul,

      Thanks for the read and the comment.

      Tiamat was an ancient Babylonian goddess of chaos and the sea. So, she’s sort of the feminine divine personification of a flood. I always like to bring in the female side.

      A.M.

  3. I love using ancient mythology to write new stories. I have some Sumerian gods/goddesses in my novel, but I’ve taken quite a bit of liberty with their characters and made one of them into a demigod rather than a god. Loved your flash!

  4. Thank you for clarifying the name in the title for us. these seems a sweet tale, even if the end of the world is at hand. The idea of a child fining a glittering ruby is always a pleaseing concept.

  5. A great story of renewal borne of chaos. You’ve done a wonderful job here, tying into the chaos/creation-goddess perception of Tiamat (while also being a very cool tie-in to the old Dungeons and Dragons idea of her as a chromatic multi-headed dragon, but that’s just me;-))
    I like your style of writing here. Really well done.

    • Thanks for the kind words, Andy!

      I googled Tiamat before I settled on Her for the title of my story. I was interested to see that there was a D&D connection. My husband is a big D&D fan. I knew about her from reading the pseudoscientifical works of Zachariah Sitchin, but that’s just me. ;)

Leave a Reply

